top of page
  • Chicago Red Stars

Chicago Red Stars Trade Cassie Miller to Kansas City Current



Chicago, Ill. (February 18, 2022) – Today the Chicago Red Stars traded goalkeeper Cassie Miller to the Kansas City Current. In exchange for Miller the Red Stars will receive $75,000 in allocation money.

Miller played an integral part in the Red Stars’ playoff run last season, stepping up in place of the injured Alyssa Naeher. The Arizona native started in 18 matches in the regular season, as well as all of the team’s playoff matches, and two in the Challenge Cup. Miller tallied nine clean sheets, seven in the regular season and two in the Challenge Cup. During the Red Stars playoff run, Miller recorded two clean sheets, one against Gotham in the quarterfinals and one in the semifinal match against the Portland Thorns.

“Cassie stepped up in a big way for the Red Stars last season. Her hard work and dedication to her team helped drive our playoff run,” said Michelle Lomnicki, Associate General Manager for the Red Stars. “We thank Cassie for everything she’s done for the club, on and off the pitch, and wish her the best in Kansas City.”

“Chicago, thank you so much for supporting me and for welcoming me with open arms. Chicago will always be a special place in my heart, coming to the Red Stars from playing overseas and it being my first NWSL team, a piece of my heart will always be with this club,” said Miller. “I have grown immensely as a professional and as a human, so all I have to say is THANK YOU to this amazing fan base for always giving this club life and cheering us on, to our ownership team that came on board for being there for us, to the staff for believing in me and my amazing teammates who I will miss very much and giving me the space to grow. I will see you all around!”

Miller started her career in the Netherlands with PSV Eindhoven in 2018 when the club finished as runners-up in the KNVB Women’s Cup. In 2019 the goalkeeper signed with Cyprus club Apollon Ladies FC before joining the Red Stars in 2020. At Florida State University, Miller totaled 48 career shutouts, the third-most in NCAA history.

The Red Stars extend their thanks to Cassie and wish her the best of luck in Kansas City and in her career.

bottom of page